Skip to content

Fear Creeps In

July 5, 2016

Last week’s bombings at the Istanbul Airport are easy to gloss over. Here in Orlando, we’re still reeling from our own home-town tragedy, after all. And Istanbul is, geographically and culturally, a world away. But not for me. I spent 10 mind-blowing days on a business/cultural excursion to Turkey in 2013, flying in and out of that very airport multiple times. During my trip, and upon my return home, I remarked to friends how safe I felt. Everywhere. But for how long? When I look at “that” list, I’m now struck by how many cities I’m connected to — Paris, Boston, Charleston, New York, Lafayette, Istanbul and, of course Orlando. We can’t cower to terrorists. But I do wonder, how long before the fear starts to creep in.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

